MoR Mobile β

New Users Please read the thread in the Introductions Section.
Rum Lovers @ the Ministry of Rum

50 years ago in 1970, there were 11 sugar factories and 4 distilleries operating in Guyana.

Search by Label Name
Other Searches
Ministry of Rum Blog
Rum Events
Member Map
Rum Producers
Retail Index
Bars & Restaurants
Distributor Index
Rum Importer Index
Articles
Interviews
Frequently Asked Rum Questions
Rum 101
Test your Rum IQ
Rum Glossary
Rum Recipes
Ministry of Rum Giftshop
Trade Registry

Go Back   Rum Lovers @ the Ministry of Rum > Sugar Cane Spirits > Rum questions/discussions
Forgot Password?
Register FAQ Members List Unregistered Posts Mark Forums Read

Rum questions/discussions

General questions or discussions about particular brands should be posted here.

Old 08-18-2008, 11:00 PM   #1
cjkemp

Default Black Heart Rum

Hi Folks,

I'm new to the forum, so howdy rum drinkers!!

I'm a US journalist, currently based in New Zealand. There's a New Zealand manufactured rum available here called Black Heart rum. It's a dark blended, imported rum. It's not particularly great, but I know people who like it.

Does anyone have any information on it. It's supposedly true to an 1842 recipe formulated by a New Zealander called Henry White. I can't find any more information than that.

Rum drinkers, please help me!!

--ck
cjkemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 09:29 PM   #2
TheRumelier

The only Black Heart Rum I have heard of is one bottled by Alfred Lamb in Scotland, which is a blend of Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad rums. It looks like and tastes like the British navy rums that are still popular in the UK, very dark and heavy. Is this the same rum, as you said it was imported??
http://www.therumelier.com
TheRumelier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 11:28 PM   #3
cjkemp